About Us

The original idea of creating an automotive museum in Balboa Park came from Briggs Cunningham, a renowned automobile collector and racer. The idea circulated for many years until an inspired group of local automotive enthusiasts propelled the idea forward.  In 1979 the San Diego City Council first considered the issue and in 1980 they gave unanimous approvel to the museum and granted a long term lease for one of the historic buildings in the jewel of San Diego - Balboa Park.  

After spending approximately $1 million renovating and upgrading the building, the San Diego Automotive Museum opened in December of 1988.  Since then millions of local auto enthusiasts and tourists from all over the world have visited our world-class collection.  Today the museum stands as a living tribute to the automobile and what it has meant to our culture.

The San Diego Automotive Museum is a non-profit corporation under section 501(c3).

Board of Directors

Our current elected and distinguished Board of Directors serving the
San Diego Automotive Museum during 2014-2016 are:

President, Robert Schlotter

First Vice President, Barry Appelbaum

Second Vice President, Carl Strona

Secretary, Michael Harris

Treasurer, Richard Davidson


Woody Snyper

JC Dumas

Ed. Schechter


Paula Brandes/Executive Director

may direct any communications to the Board of Directors by writing to:

San Diego Automotive Museum
Attn:  Board of Directors
2080 Pan American Plaza
San Diego, CA  92101

Or call 619-231-2886 x2221
and leave a message with Sally Vangorkom